This Blog Belongs to: Monica

January 6, 2009

Happy New Year Everyone!

Filed under: blogging,diary,reflections,thoughts — by Monica @ 5:35 am

Something to know about me: I love words. This is actually just a new found love as of late. Admittedly, I have never really enjoyed words as much as I do now. Perhaps not being in school anymore (ie. High School or university) has something to do with it, especially where as I am eager to learn! And now, where I am no longer in an environment that encourages and soley focuses on this sort of behavior, I really have to depend on myself to keep learning continuously, now that I am no longer in an education institution of any kind.

I work an eight hour job, seven days a week – if not more, – and it is merely words that bring an elatedness to my day. I am constantly jotting down unfamiliar or uncertain words, checking its pronunciation using online dictionaries. I always have a pen and paper handy, otherwise my iPod Touch will do the trick, and either in conversation or reading novels and articles, I will take note of a word and look it up immediately or go back to it shortly after. This is just one of my few goals for 2009, which is to expand my vocabulary.

As was previously mentioned, expanding my vocabulary is one of many other New Year’s resolutions. The following are other resolutions I have set for myself, and they are:

  1. Take more pictures – which means charge my camera regularly. I miss cameras that just took measly ‘ol AA batteries
  2. Learn to cook 
  3. Read more than I already do – I’ve created a reading list on my facebook, which I will post here later.
  4. Go to the gym – enough said. 
  5. Take a crash course on my car (ie, learn how to open the hood and check oil, etc) 
  6. Think before talking; be more considerate of others feelings & how they may perceive me
  7. Have a blog 
  8.  Become devoted to a couple memes during the week
  9. Be more tidy & organized  
  10. Expand my vocabulary – look out for my Wednesday Words: new words I’ve learned, displayed here on a weekly basis. 
Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

