This Blog Belongs to: Monica

March 7, 2009

A Saturday Consisting of Books, Coffee, and My Macbook

Filed under: blogging,books,meme,reading — by Monica @ 7:47 pm

I was seriously thinking about leaving my blog to rot. It’s been a good two months. But nahhh, I think I will come back to it every so often. Whenever I feel like it 🙂 So here’s what I got today:

0228092304a

I went to Chapters and there were a bunch of books on sale! I’m talkin’ like $1-$2 for hardcover books. Bookshelf fillers anyone? I got a few. What would have cost me $200 retail was only $27! I think I hear the Scottish celebrating.

Blink by Malcolm Gladwell 

Leave Me Alone I’m Reading by Maureen Corrigan

My French Whore by Gene Wilder 

The Hungry Years by William Leith

The Sound of No Hands Clapping by Toby Young

The Little Women by Katharine Weber

There were a lot of books but what I’ve chosen looked to have decent content. I think I may hit the used book stores in my area to find some deals on acrylic painting books. I’m just getting back into it as of recently. I use to take a visual arts class in high school and I loved it. I’ll need to find books on learning the acoustic guitar as well. I have a guitar and took lessons for a couple weeks, quit, and now I want to learn again, on my own. Is it me, or do I seem to have some sort of difficulty in committing to things? I just need to be more self-motivated and become dedicated this time around. 

The LG Dare 9700, 3.2 megapixel camera

The LG Dare 9700, 3.2 megapixel camera

Okay, this picture doesn’t show off my new phone at all, but my phone took all these pictures you see in my post today! Some are blurry, but I’m still getting use to everything and whatnot. And my pink silicone case, of course! I do love it. My cell phone carrier is Telus and this was an upgrade to my original LG Chocolate 8500, which is now junk, I really put that phone through a lot! I’ll have to take good care of this new one and not drop it on pavement and ceramic tiles every other day.  My contract was coming to an end so I was looking around to other carriers (Rogers, Bell/Aliant, Virgin, etc). But after listening to everyone’s opinions and reviews (that of my co-workers and friends), I’m pretty happy with Telus’s services so I figured I’d stick with them.

0307091442a5

*sigh*… No car today… Next time though! 😀

03070914421

Just checking out my emails.

Also, in response to Booking Through Thursday’s post on Thursday 26th about books that we know are fabulous but have never gotten around to actually reading them and would like to someday, mine would be: the Twilight series. Everyone is reading them now. There are – what? four? – four books out as well as a movie, all my co-workers are reading them, circulating their copies at work. I figured I should get with the now and read them sometime. I’ll borrow someone’s copy and if I like them I’ll buy them for my personal collection. Also, I would like to read some classics in which I always notice references made to these classics often, such as Emma, Wuthering Heights, Jane Eyre, things like that. And The Secret. The Secret is actually one of those books that I said “I should probably read someday” and I’m just about done it now! It’s different. I’m not sure how I feel about it. I’m not much of a spiritual person nor much of a believer. If “The Secret” were seriously that easy, I would totally believe it! But I don’t know… Sometimes I think its all garbage. But again, I’m on the fence on this one, parts of the book or the concept I do believe, others not so much. I mean this whole thing, the law of attraction and positive thinking, is nothing new.

Anyway, that’s about it for me. I should get a move on… Nice to be back. Have a great weekend everyone!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

